Author Topic: Some Scootacar/SIBA wiring  (Read 4170 times)

adi

• Quite Chatty
Some Scootacar/SIBA wiring
« on: October 25, 2009, 10:32:22 PM »
Its now time to assemble the scootacar wiring system (its getting close...) and since looking at the wiring diagram, i cant make sense of a few things, since the wiring diagram shows several things as blocks without giving you a clue as to whats inside them (grrrrr...i hate it when they do that).

So, to work it all out and figure out how to rewire it (i think im going to add a few more fuses!). Im actually an audio/electronics engineer, and unofficially specialize in power distribution, so rewiring stuff isnt difficult, but i would like to find out some things first so i can figure out how it used to work, always much easier to ask someone who knows already rather then trying to work it out yourself, especially since my scootacars wiring has been modified.

1). Lights The wiring diagram basically shows them as this:

The light switch, which i assume is a OFF-ON1-ON1+2 switch, is completely independent of ignition. So, it doesn't matter weather the key is in the ignition or not, or weather the engine is running or not, you can have full beam. In most vehicles im used to (German stuff), only parking lights can be turned on without having the key.

However...this is the wierd thing. I swear before i had the bubble car all to pieces, when i was first seeing whats working and whats not on it, the key had to be in the ignition to get main/dipped! Is this a later revision, (mine is serial number 426, i dont know if thats early or late as scootacars go)? Or is my brain just playing tricks on me because im so used to having to have the key in for lights?

OK, next

2) ignition switch. Does anyone happen to have a diagram of a SIBA ignition switch WITH reverse? I cant seem to find any literature anywhere about the reverse model.

From what i gather, it basically does this: